Why your next date should have traits of Wolverine


Why is the moon so lonely?

Because once she used to have a lover.

These might be the most irrelevant line of the entire X-Men universe, but these lines stayed with the young adult me when I first watched X-Men Origin- Wolverine. Yes, it did help that Hugh Jackman was the hottest man alive, and I have an insane thing for Australian men. But there were a number of subtle instances in the movie that stayed with me.

Now in my 30s, I just chanced upon the movie while browsing for a good documentary on Hotstar. It helped that my mother-in-law broke my mouse so working on my research project was pretty impossible.

Watching the movie suddenly made me understand the depth of the reason why I fell so helplessly in love with Wolverine (a bit more than I was in love with Logan), and the love for these two characters triumphs over my love for Hugh Jackman.

Wolverine is a wolf

The Character of Wolverine is everything that I wanted in my partner ( even with those adamantium claws :D). Have you ever tried falling in love with an animal? It loves you just because you are kind to it. You don’t have to feed it clean it , Or pay 200K in tution or any such stuff. It just loves you for you. I felt that is how Wolverine loved, no agenda no ulterior motive , no playing in on psychological blind spots he just loved.

I wanted that to be the definition of love- no, because I look good, not because I bring anything to the table just because I am me.

Wolverine is Passionate

Logan has a reason when he transformed into Wolverine. He had to avenge his lost love. He wanted to bring justice. I wanted a passionate man myself. Someone who is responsible is driven. No, I am not asking to get metal claws and kill people. But have a metal brain and be strategic in helping us both grow. I hate parasitic people more than real parasites.

Wolverine had a heart

 Remember the scene ( I know you wont 😛 I finished watching the movie 10 mins back so I know :D) when he realized that Colonel Stryker has trapped other kids and Kayla’s sister is the reason she played him. He oozed with pain. The scene where he frees the kids from the cages showed his passion.

He understood why Kayla did what she did – the power to rationalize why people do what they do is the most essential part of a relationship. The power to forgive know the circumstances stands next to nothing in a relationship and the script writer of Wolverine understood that.

Yea maybe I am bit high on fantasy right now and maybe you did not  make an effort to read this far, there are some really essential human traits that Fantasy characters depict. Maybe there is a learning from all of them.

About Asarkr

A decisive soul| passionate writer| Statistics and Maths geek| Loves Chicago| Toastmasters| Data maniac| Marketing Person| TEDx | Permanent procrastinator| Social flagbearer| Education evangelist| Co founder Marketingthingy/Socialthingy| Winner standing alone :) Contact: amritasarkar1709@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment